UCI Mountainbike Marathon World Championships 2019 in Grächen

The Swiss remain at the home World Championships without winning a medal

Hector Leonardo Paez from Colombia and Pauline Ferrand-Prévot from France triumph at the Mountain Bike Marathon World Championships in Grächen. Lukas Flückiger and Ilona Chavaillaz both finished eighth as the best Swiss.
Mathias Flückiger had set himself a lot of goals, declared the Mountain Bike Marathon World Championships in Grächen an important goal for the season early on, and prepared himself for the competition accordingly. For a long time it looked very good for the 31-year-old Berner. He led the race for over 70 km, sometimes together with his brother Lukas.
Towards the end of the 95 km long race, however, the silver medallist left his strength in the cross-country. He dropped back and finished the race in 15th place. His brother Lukas, who was four years older than him, could not quite keep up the pace either, but he finished eighth and was thus the best Swiss. Mathias Flückiger summed up his last long ascent as simply running out of energy and added that he was already disappointed. "The goal had been to win a medal here."
New World Champion is Hector Leonardo Paez. For the 37-year-old long-distance specialist from Colombia, it is the first gold medal after a second place and three third places.
Pauline Ferrand-Prévot achieved a start-finish victory in the women's singles. The 27-year-old Frenchwoman, who became Cross Country World Champion for the second time at the end of August in Mont Sainte-Anne, took just under four hours to complete the 70 km circuit. Ferrand-Prévot is an exceptional cycling talent. In 2014 she won World Championship gold in the elite Ponferrada road race, still in her U23 age group. In 2015, she celebrated her victory as World Cycling and Cross Country Champion.
The Swiss did not play a role in the battle for medals. Ilona Chavaillaz ranked eighth. She was "very satisfied" with her performance and the result, said the 37-year-old from Freiburg, who had started the race slowly and had rolled up the field from behind. Esther Süss and Ariane Lüthi, the flagship of the Swiss long distance scene, finished 13th and 15th respectively.

UCI Mountainbike Marathon World Championships 2019 à Grächen

Les Suissesses et les Suisses restent au Championnat du monde à domicile sans gagner une médaille

Hector Leonardo Paez de Colombie et Pauline Ferrand-Prévot de France triomphent aux Championnats du monde de vélo de montagne à Grächen. Lukas Flückiger et Ilona Chavaillaz ont tous deux terminé huitièmes au classement des meilleurs Suisses.
Mathias Flückiger s'était fixé beaucoup d'objectifs, avait déclaré très tôt que les Championnats du monde de mountain bike marathon à Grächen étaient un objectif important pour la saison et s'était préparé en conséquence pour la compétition. Pendant longtemps, le jeune Bernois de 31 ans s'en est très bien sorti. Il a mené la course sur plus de 70 km, parfois avec son frère Lukas.
Vers la fin de la course de 95 km, cependant, le médaillé d'argent a laissé sa force dans le cross-country. Son frère Lukas, qui avait quatre ans de plus que lui, n'arrivait pas non plus à suivre le rythme, mais il a terminé huitième et était donc le meilleur Suisse. Mathias Flückiger a résumé sa dernière longue ascension comme un simple manque d'énergie et a ajouté qu'il était déjà déçu. "Le but était de gagner une médaille ici."
Le nouveau champion du monde est Hector Leonardo Paez. Pour le Colombien de 37 ans, spécialiste des longues distances, c'est la première médaille d'or après une deuxième place et trois trois troisièmes places.
Pauline Ferrand-Prévot a remporté une victoire au départ et à l'arrivée en simple féminin. La Française de 27 ans, qui est devenue championne du monde de cross-country pour la deuxième fois à la fin août au Mont Sainte-Anne, a mis un peu moins de quatre heures pour compléter le circuit de 70 km. Ferrand-Prévot est une cycliste au talent exceptionnel : en 2014, elle a remporté la médaille d'or du Championnat du monde de Ponferrada, toujours dans sa catégorie d'âge des moins de 23 ans, dans la course élite sur route. En 2015, elle a célébré sa victoire en tant que championne du monde de cyclisme et de cross-country.
Les Suisses n'ont joué aucun rôle dans la lutte pour les médailles. Ilona Chavaillaz s'est classée huitième. Elle était "très satisfaite" de sa performance et du résultat, a déclaré la Fribourgeoise de 37 ans, qui avait commencé la course lentement et avait remonté le peloton par derrière. Esther Süss et Ariane Lüthi, le fleuron de la scène longue distance suisse, ont terminé respectivement 13ème et 15ème.